Early Thanksgiving….

Posted: July 12, 2011 in Inspiration, Positive Thinking, Weddings, Weekends

This weekend we attended the long awaited and much anticipated wedding of my brother, Legarris, and his beautiful wife, Latrice, in Atlanta (pictures soon to come).

I’m not really sure where this post is going or why God put it on my heart to post it. Perhaps it will serve as a reminder to me the next time I feel the need to complain. I promise this blog won’t turn into a woe is me wall!

As most of you know, my family has suffered what I’d say a record-breaking amount of tragic deaths. In times of family gatherings or celebrations, it’s very easy to get carried away in sad thoughts about who’s missing and “oh if they could see us now..” I think it hit me most as the family’s lined up to enter the church and the coordinator asked for the parents of the bride and groom.  As I watched my husband line up beside my mother to walk her down the aisle, I realized we didn’t have a father, I realized she had no husband, my nephew no grandfather, the list goes on, but needless to say.. I lost it! As I walked down the aisle, it probably appeared that I was overcome with joy, but in that one moment I was overcome with grief. Pure ol why me, life sucks, where’s my blanky…grief! I looked up to the heavens as if I could catch just one glimpse of him.. nothing there of course, so I lowered my head to face the crowd feeling like a bozo. In that moment, I caught my brother’s eye as he mouthed “STOP IT.” I saw my nephew grinning ear to ear – there they were Warren Brown II & III – right before my eyes.  I looked from side to side and I saw my family – faces from near and far gathered together to share in this day with us and I realized I’d better hold my chin up and be grateful for what I have.

As I think back over the weekend, I was able to call my linesister, Carol, at the drop of a dime and ask her to keep Koda for us. I had my best friend, Pam, with me tackling makeup and hair totally free of charge, my other sorority sister, Hilary, had her wonderful boyfriend photographer there snapping pictures for us, and at some point later in the night Vince was behind the bar pouring drinks! It was truly a family affair. We had a great 12 hour road trip with my mom, created unforgettable memories, and made life long friends and connections with our new extended family.

I’m not wealthy, nor do I have fortune or fame, but my cup overflows with family and friends and you can’t cash those in.

As for the Quarles, we literally served as chauffeur, punch pourer, bartender, cake cutter, reception coordinator, bridesmaid, ice getter, dancing machines, setup, and cleanup crew and believe it or not.. it was wonderful! I’d do it again at the drop of a dime to put a smile on my brother’s face. I’m rambling now and I’m also tearing up a bit, so I digress.

I’m not a teacher nor philosopher, but it brings my heart joy to help others and I guess the overall message here is to be happy and be grateful..it’s as simple as that. Should you ever find yourself having a pity party, just look around and ask yourself what you can be grateful for.

If you happen to see food, water, shelter, family, and/or friends….get up off your butt, wipe your years, and say

Comments
  1. Liz says:

    I needed to hear/read this today!

  2. Shannon says:

    Thanks so much for sharing and reminding us that sometimes we can become so overcome with what we don’t have, that we forget to acknowledge and appreciate what we do have.

Leave a Reply

