I’m so…..

Posted: July 27, 2011 in Positive Thinking, The Secret


Randomly, and I mean very randomly, I sit here in a nowhere nearly half-packed apartment, eating a nowhere close to healthy combo from McDonald’s.. and two videos came to mind.

Letting go feels GOOD! Why didn’t someone tell me about this years ago? My plate is still incredibly full, but this is nothing compared to normal. Relinquishing control, delegating, and saying no feels absolutely fantastic.  I happened to watch a random episode of VH1’s Single Ladies last night and I saw a lot of myself in Stacey Dash.

*sidenote – truthfully, I laugh at that because Stacey and I have nothing in common other than gender and I have probably sinned even comparing myself to her *

However, Stacey threw a dinner party and spent more time planning, entertaining, and hosting than she did enjoying the party. I don’t want to be that girl.

I have realized that I can’t always run the show and I can’t always call the shots and better yet I don’t HAVE to.

In the words of the Pointer Sisters..I’m about to lose control and I think I like it! (video 1)

The other video, the actual reality behind my excitement. (video 2)

Uh, no I’m not spazzing out, this just happens to be one of my most memorable Saved By The Bell Eppys.

Letting go for me is hard. I’m always afraid that if I don’t do it, nothing will be done and it certainly won’t be done right!
I think one of my most common phrases is “UGH..just let me do it!”

I’m giving this thing a shot. It’ll be interesting to see how it all plays out, but I’m grateful to have you follow this journey me!

Before I close, let me pay homage to Stacey.  Here’s a look at her fabulous dinner party attire

Comments
  1. Lissa says:

    Ah, Jessica Spannow. Definitely a memorable SBTB episode!

    Your post reminds me of the chorus of a country song… and no, not one by the only country band I’m a fan of (Zac Brown Band, how I love thee), but it still comes to mind (thanks due to Joey for loving him some country lol).

    Remember that “letting go” is not “giving up”, but quite the opposite…

    Enjoy 🙂

    “Jesus take the wheel
    Take it from my hands
    Cause I can’t do this on my own
    I’m letting go
    So give me one more chance
    To save me from this road I’m on
    Jesus take the wheel”

    XO

  2. Angie says:

    Ahhhh yes…I’m loving the picture with the baby. “The more I think, the more confused I get” …how appropriate. Sometimes I feel like I stay in a state of confusion, lol! But isn’t rewarding to see how the new things start happening in your life once you step out the way and let God in! Its amazing how we can change our circumstances by just changing our attitudes. I’ve tried to apply a simply rule to my life: stop declaring my worries and frustrations and start declaring God’s goodness and promises over my life. Now, don’t get me wrong, I know thats easier ssaid than done. But as you are witnessing, you get a sense of peace when you just sit the passenger seat instead of the driver seat! Talk about your own personal cruise control! God is the ultimate GPS, we just gotta follow His direction. Letting go is the first step…and trust me, its a daily step.

    Now..as for Stacy Dash, she does dress her tail off on that show! Who throws a party in sequence in heels!? lol!

Leave a Reply

