So shocking but true…

Posted: August 2, 2011 in Inspiration, Positive Thinking

I can do anything better than you!

Simma down..I’m kidding! Sadly, there was a time in my life that I believed such things. You’d never know it, but it’s true – I can do anything better than you! Don’t stop now.. keep reading! I don’t necessarily believe that this is a bad attitude to have. One should always aim to be your best and do your best, but at what cost? In my old age, I’m realizing that I’m not perfect, nor do I have to stretch myself to the limit to be perfect! I’m pretty sure I stated this in an old post, but that’s ok – hopefully repetition will lead to reality. Several events occurred this weekend, during the move (pics to come) and during celebrations that revealed to me that I think I’m “flawless” and pure genius about a lot of things and I expect things around me to reflect the same. When the flawed or less than perfect me appears, I panic thinking the world will end and I’ve disappointed those that depend on me most. Negative! I’m not perfect and you love me anyway. If you’ve gotten to this point of the blog post, you’ve surely accepted me – flaws and all!

Shameless Beyonce plug, but seriously think about it.. there are a LOT of people that love and accept you with all your flaws. I sure do! And should you catch yourself being judgmental, overly critical, or uber annoyed by someone else’s flaws – take a look in the mirror!

I’m really digging the music inspired posts, but apologize for the heavy video. If you watch nothing else in this post, check this one out. They are all really good, but there’s one in particular that I love – I may not be perfect, but I will always “Bring My Best!” Hopefully, I can eliminate some “oh lords and aw hells!” Oprah’s Master Class – Maya Angelou’s Bring Your Best. Thanks Telisha for the links!!!

Thanks for reading!

Comments
  1. Angie says:

    Wait a minute! Hold up! You mean to tell me that Beyonce has flaws??? Now I’ve heard everything. lol! Seriously though, you are not alone with the “I’m better than you” attitude. I’ve been there before. As a matter of fact, I’ve had the audicity to get an attitude when someone has proven they were better than me. Then I would spin my wheels trying to figure out how to out do them next time. ha ha! Go figure. What a waste of time and energy. Especially when I realize that I will never be able to out do everyone, no matter how much I try. But what I realized is that I’m my own worst critic at times. The only one who expects me to be perfect is me and I get tired of battling myself all the times. Sometimes its a daily struggle just for me to love me at a 100% level. But it is such a light, happy, and joyful feeling when I just let go of all the negative and just embrace who I am. Yes, I have flaws and yes, I don’t always like the ways things turn out…but Yes, I’m still a good person and I make a difference to others. I agree with all that you said in the blog post, let’s continue to be the best “Me” we can be! Be happy with our best – albeit it may not be perfect – but its who we are nonetheless! I’m lovin it!

Leave a Reply

