The Job Post!

Posted: June 5, 2012 in Job, Positive Thinking, The Secret

Update Ahead: For the past 11 months, I’ve been pretty miserable at work. I love the company itself and value the friendships I’ve made there, but I could only feel undervalued and overworked for so long. Ever sit at your desk and think “maaaaan any idiot could do this”? or, “if they had any idea how basic this was, I probably wouldn’t have a job”? Yea, that was me. Floating by. The job wasn’t completely easy, but  it certainly was blah and redundant.

Grad school has sparked all kind of emotions causing me to realize that I was wasting my time and brain. Last semester in my Managing the Growth Venture class, we partnered with a local start-up and advised them on strategy and growth plans. Nerd alert – I had the time of my life!

I found myself jotting down notes and speaking to my manager about improvements we needed to make and loopholes I found. I might as well have been talking to a brick wall – literally. In those brief moments, my motivational fire was lit and extinguished.

Last Tuesday, fed up and ranting to Shannon, I randomly googled Social Media jobs to see what was available. I’m an internet addict with a fetish for technology, so this was a space I wanted to be a part of. I stumbled upon a marketing startup in Chapel Hill and submitted my application.

A few things I fell in love with:

Check and check!

Application sent. I received an email back with an employee questionnaire. Serious eye roll and complained to Shannon about how LAME this questionairre was. That was lazy me talking. Motivated me said, go after what you want.

My favorite question from the questionnaire:

Q: Which actor would play you in a movie about your life?

A. Ellen Pompeo, but only as Meredith Grey in Grey’s Anatomy. She has just enough spunk and overly dramatized scenes to characterize my life.

It seemed like a fun question and I wanted to get noticed! Who tells an interviewer they are overly dramatic? My answers said, this is the me you’re gonna get!

Fast forward two days..they called me in for an interview, we chatted for about 2 hours and Megan handed me a job offer on site!!! We even hugged at the end of the interview lol. I gave her an informal yes out of pure excitement and went home to think things through. Was I REALLY about to make this move? I’m leaving stable, flexible, comfy Job A for start-up, unfamiliar, small and chaotic Job B. After weighing out the commute, flexibility, and bugging Angie & Shannon about salary , the true deciding factor was realizing that in 2 hours Job B was able to see my potential and demand that I have an offer before I walk out the door and Job A hasn’t seen in it 5 years. uuuhhh….DEUCES

I’m of course nervous about what to wear, will they like me, being the new girl, being an old chick (some of the other chicks are still in undergrad!), will the company remain in business, etc etc but I’m also very excited about the possibilities! The CEO actually said before I left “Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship relationship” ~Casablanca (cheesy right?)


Comments
  1. Lissa says:

    I am so so so so so excited for you! The new job sounds perfect and I’m so glad you held out and waited for the perfect match! Everything happens for a reason, after all 🙂

    Work will NOT be the same without you, though… I wouldn’t have made it here this long without you to commiserate with lol

    You better still be on IM all the time! And we need to meet for lunch more often than we do these days!

    Lucky for me, you have the racecar driver “little woman, heavy foot” syndrome and need brakes more frequently than the average driver, so Scout & I will get to see you when Joey’s working on your car! Yay!

  2. Angela Hughes says:

    Congrats again sis! Next step, let your favorite food truck know where you’re going so they can find you at lunch time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

